(Yellow and ) Blue Sky Thinking

Anything yellow and blue
recordmeister
Middle-Aged Spread

(Yellow and ) Blue Sky Thinking

Post by recordmeister »

Morning.

I’m feeling like a bit of a rant this morning. I know this could well have been included in another thread, but I feel that it needs a little more focus and also some room for ideas from you lot on here. So here goes:

What does ‘Oxford’ mean?

I’m not talking about the historical lineage of the word, of a ford crossing for Oxen, but what it really means around the world.

I'm talking the global brand of Oxford.

Along with Sheffield (which ended up on every knife and fork in the world for a long period of time) and London, Oxford is probably one of the top three most recognised UK city brands globally.

Why? Partly because of the history of industry and innovation in the field of the motor car, but mainly as the location for an institution know for high quality education.

I work in the drinks industry and the protection of the 'appellation' is hugely important. The chaps in Champagne have a trigger-finger for litigation on anyone using the term 'Champagne' (I think various companies, inc Apple have been sued for their use of the word when it comes to describing colour). Cognac has its own bureau, the BNIC, to protect the area and use of the name. Scotch whisky is protected by the Scotch Whisky Association (SWA) who has a global, legal definition of what can be called 'Scotch'.

All of these are not just protecting an industry, safeguarding quality for the consumer, but also putting in foundations to grow the awareness of their moniker and what it means for the consumer.

However, the term 'Oxford' is up-for-grabs. There is no copyright on it. It has no bureau for protection, nor a legally binding definition. OCC are not going to sue anyone for misuse of the term 'Oxford' (see: the Oxford shirt / Oxford Marmalade. None of which I believe to have a lasting link with the City of Dreaming Spires).